Chill-Lex Day + Make Me Wonder #24 – “When you want something badly enough, the universe conspires to help you achieve it.”

Today, I am killing 2 birds with one stone. This post shall be my way of entailing the Guinea Pigs birthday celebration, and to prove that a quote truly exist in real life.

“When you want something badly enough, the universe conspires to help you achieve it.”

Wow.. really??? Felt a few eye-brows raised. For those skeptics, read on.

I first read this quote in Paolo Coelhos book – The Alchemist (which by the way is a great read. “The Alchemist details the journey of a young Andalusian shepherd boy named Santiago. Santiago, believing a recurring dream to be prophetic, decides to travel to the pyramids of Egypt to find treasure. On the way, he encounters love, danger, opportunity and disaster. One of the significant characters that he meets is an old king named Melchizedek who tells him that “When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” This is the core philosophy and motif of the book”)

I myself experienced how the universe conspired to help me make everything so perfect for his birthday, in various incidences, all in 2 consecutive days!!!

Now, Guinea Pigs birthday was on the 29th Dec, and the grand plan (I call it Chill-Lex Day) hatched about 2 months ago. Toyed around with a many ideas, finally settled for the following.

His day shall start with a surprise bday cake as soon as he wakes up, make his 1st wish,  huff at the candle and when I on the lights, he shall see this.

DSC00315

And then, it shall be breakfast in bed while we watch a DVD.

Now the first exeperience of this quote came when I wanted to get him his favourite Illy Coffee for breakfast. So I can’t possibly be driving to Illy in BV from Subang at 8am in the morning to get coffee right? So silly me, wanted to take-away coffee the evening before, and heat it up the next morning. (Coffee drinkers would probably go – WHATTTTTT????).

Thank god for my chatty nature, I somehow mentioned about my plan of heating up the coffee the next morning to the guy who was taking my order, and he laughed and said – No way. He then explained about coffee composition and how good coffee can taste like crap after many hours, and no – nuking it won’t make it any better. We toyed with the possibilities of me brewing some myself, but nothing seemed to work. Finally he said La Bodega has Illy as well, and the closest to our place was Empire, so YAY! He then made a call, checked that they’ll get things ready by 8am (they usually open at 8 but kitchen starts serving at 9). I later on realized that Illy and La Bod is under the same group, and the guy who took my order was probably the owner or something (to be of authority to get them to get the kitchen up at sharp 8am). I was ever sooooooooooooo thankful for this kind soul who took the trouble to crack his head to find a solution to materialize this silly wide blue-eyed girls dream of feeding her man his fav coffee to kick-start his birthday.

My 2nd experience was about a dress. The Dress. The one that I planned to wear for this birthday dinner. I actually saw the dress on FB, Sammiess boutique (Modestarr) album. It was gorgeous! Sadly, it was out of stock. On the 28th Dec, I pop by her boutique, needed a birthday lunch and dinner dreses anyways, and I saw the dress there. I asked Sammie again, as expected, she said that was the one that was sold, the customer booked, and is due to collect it soon. Dissappointed, but glad I found a flirty blue dress for lunch and a skimpy white tube top for dinner. Now here’s how our mother universe dip her finger and poke into my fate, cos as I was leaving the area, Sammie texted and said the dress is up for grabs again, her customer had to fly off overseas in a real hurry and she cant pick it up. Was super duper happy, drove to Sammies again immediately and bought it! Now.. take that! Coincidence? Or nature taking its course?

Now on the morning of his birthday, as planned, I went to La Bodega, thank god they opened as schedule, but the kitchen was running a lil late. Panicked a lil, but the nice owner calmed me down and assured me they will get it ready ASAP, fed me a hot glass of lemon tea, and there I waited. Remembered that I needed a cake, pop by into The Loaf but they only start business 9am onwards. Dammits, I can’t wait that long. Thankfully, one of the guy succumbed to my sad puppy teary eye look, and sold me 4 mini Uhu Cakes! Then I realized I need a candle. Just one would do. The Loaf do not have one. I went to Coffee Bean, no candle. Went over to Starbucks, still no candle, fine.. will probably get it from the sundry shop. Sigh

Went back to La Bod, my order of Big Breakfast is ready, packed and good to go. The nice looking blond man (:P) – assuming he owns the place even gave me a stirer for the coffee and a free satchet of lemon tea for myself, as I told him I don’t drink coffee at all. And here’s the kicker. When I wanted to pay for it, he simply smiled and said – “It’s on the house. Hope you both enjoy your day” I was SPEECHLESS!!! So surprised as his nice gesture and generousity. Felt like I was on sugar high, the universe is backing me all the way to make this day perfect. I smiled and thanked him many times, and floated to the car, drove home grinning.

And then it hit me – dammit! Still no birthday candles! I dashed to 7-11 outside the house to get one. I just need ONE little pink candle. They didn’t have it. And here is where for the 4th time, mother universe shone her light – the auntie paying at the counter was the owner of the bakery next door. Overheard me asking the worker for just one candle and told me to follow her to her shop, she’ll get me one. Awwwwwwwwwwwww….. I then bought a lil cookie for her, my way of saying thank you.

So breakfast in bed went well, then we watched a DVD, and got ready for lunch. Lunch was at Opus Bistro where I’ve secretly invited a few of his colleagues and close friends to join us.

DSC00345

Once he saw the setting for 10 ppl, he knew more was joining, and could roughly guess who. But the grand surpsrise was a car (no I did not buy him a car). I got him an experience to test drive the car.

DSC00399

Again, a 5th experience of how the universe can truly conspire to help when you want something really badly. How I got the car was truly not easy. Long story short, from an old friend to another, to a coincidence of speaking about birthdays, experiences and surprises, a very willing friend offered to help me make this a dream come true. He himself took lots of effort to arrange for a Lotus Exige and brought it over to Opus to surprise the Guinea Pig. There are probably a hundred possibilities of what could go wrong with this plan, for everything was timed and there were so many people involved. However, somehow everything fell into place, it was perfect.

DSC00409

The day ended with a dinner at KL Tower. Guess once in a lifetime experience, to eat on top of the world, watching the city lights, too bad food sucks. View was however something worth the bandwidth here.

DSC00500

There are other small incidences actually – ie: how I got a birthday banner (from Toys’R’Us) the birthday cake for lunch and it’s words (was collected by the waiter at Opus, etc)

DSC00384

And the little things like the finding of our lunch venue – Opus (to fit the scenario of a desireable car parking in front, so that we can rave about it, and in the end, surprised him with me opening the car door as we leave), and other small incidences I may not recall made it too difficult for me to deny that a bigger force is at play here. Of course there are also situations I wish could be better – ie: to have Zahir & Grace joined us for lunch, or for the food to be better at KL Tower…. But all in all, there are enough incidences to convince me that this quote is truly true.

When you want something badly enough, the universe conspires to help you achieve it.

About MayWong

Am said to be a nerd bimbo trapped in a mind of a 12 yr old boy by the one I love. Blubbly-icious!~!~!!~!~!!
This entry was posted in Make Me Wonder, Me, Myself & I. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

