Tattle Nails – Make me wonder #19 of 200

I have Tattle Nails

You can so tell whether I am happy or not by just looking at my nails & fingers.

I tend to peel my nails really short, and even the dried skin/cuticles around my fingers, usually the thumbs, when I am unhappy or stressed.

Yes… they can get really bad, slight bleeding is normal, and yes, it hurts – A LOT. Sometimes it hurts while peeling it, and other times it hurts when I wash my hands. I don’t know why I still do it, I am a sado that way?

I’ve thought of posting up a picture of my thumbs, but changed my mind. Don’t like any ugly body parts of mine floating around the web. (yes, I can be vain like that). Guinea Pig used to make me wear colored rubber bands to remind myself not to peel. Some of you who once asked and I jokingly said it is a new accessory trend – now you know.

So then I kinda wonder, is it just me? Idle finger… went to work

And…. I FOUND THIS!!!

APPARENTLY….. JENG JENG JENG….. there are more than one ME in this world!😛

“Compulsive skin picking and nail biting is also known as Onychophagia. We are lumped in the same category with those who pick their skin compulsively have their faces and bodies covered, at times, with red sores and scabs – they are known as acne excoria,  a self-inflicted skin disorder that resembles acne” (It was featured in one of the episodes in CSI – Vegas. Those of you CSI buffs would remember).

And to explain why…..         

“When sufferers feel stressed, doing these things has a kind of soothing effect on their nervous systems, and reduces levels of stimulation. On the other hand, when they are bored or inactive, they seems to provide a needed level of stimulation to the nervous system.  This  probably accounts for why so many people who dislike doing them find it so hard to stop. It simply “feels good” at the time, no matter what the consequences.  These behaviors may really be all about self-regulation in certain individuals whose nervous system may not be doing a very good job of regulating itself.

My own theory is that there may be some type of dysfunction of a brain mechanism that regulates levels of stimulation within the central nervous system, and that these behaviors represent an attempt to control these internal stimulation levels externally.  People seem to pull, pick, or bite when thery are either overstimulated (dus to stress or excitement) or understimulated (due to boredom or inactivity).  Many similar behaviors can be observed in animals who are kept in confined or unstimulating environments, or who live in stressful conditions. 

There are many that now believe that compulsive hair pulling, skin picking, and nail biting form a subgroup of what is becoming known as the Obsessive- Compulsive Disorder Spectrum.”

Full article here

http://westsuffolkpsych.homestead.com/SkinPicking.html

Yet again, reassuring me I have OCD.. yea yea yea….

So there… wonderment gone.. curiosity satisfied…

Looks like – I am not the only one with Tattle Nails.

About MayWong

Am said to be a nerd bimbo trapped in a mind of a 12 yr old boy by the one I love. Blubbly-icious!~!~!!~!~!!
This entry was posted in Make Me Wonder. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

