Next movie to catch: The Joshua Tapes

Accepting a rather last minute invite to the premier for a local movie last night was a really good decision. It was a good end to a long day, worth spending the remaining ounce of energy I have left watching it. (No, I did not fall asleep as I thought I would… was blardy sleepy when I arrived at the cinema!)

So anyways, I left the cinema at almost midnight, vowing to myself to do these few things soon.

1)    Blog about the movie

2)    Encourage friends to watch

3)    Start supporting the local film industry by catching as many local movies as I can

4)    Plan a road trip with friends (and not taking the highways)

Throughout the ride home, I was thinking about the local film industry. I remembered the ever overhyped historical epic – Puteri Gunung Ledang. Remembered it took a loooong time to shoot and being ridiculously expensive to produce. Probably expectations was overset, it was a disappointment for me. But at least I remembered being proud that it was the first Malaysian film to be invited to the Venice Film Festival and the only homegrown movie to dare vie for a nomination in the Academy Award’s Best Foreign Language Film category. (was in the broadcasting industry when this movie was released.. so yea. Proud. J )

My ex lecturer did mentioned a few local movies that was screened in the international festivals, there was one in Cannes Film Festival I think (too lazy to Google for it, but feel free to). Guess we need to be able to churn out enough movies and hope for more hit rates, but yea, easier said than done. Usually it is the arty farty films that are selected, and not the usual box-office stuff that most local producers do. Plus, our film industry is probably still a toddler, comparing to Hollywood, and even other Asian countries. But the sad fact remains, even us locals do not support our own local films (this is the 3rd local production I’ve watched in the cinema in my whole 28 years and probably 200+ movie outings). We will usually only watch it when it’s airing on TV, (cos its free, we are quite a bunch of cheapskates).

From now on, I will TRY to watch more of our local films in the cinema. ( TRY.. I will TRY)

Anywayssssssssssss…..

What the hell did I watched last night?

The Joshua Tapes (and Joshua isn’t the main character)

The Joshua Tapes is about 3 boys (men :P) on a road trip heading to the East Coast. It’s no “Harold & Kumar Goes To White Castle”. When I asked Matthew how would he compare his roadtrip movie to H&K Goes To WC, he says “We’re not so crude lah” I managed my expectations from then on.😛. But I’m glad the movie was good.

So why is a movie about 3 guys going on a road trip together yet nothing like Harold & Kumars trip worth watching then? Here’s why.

The movie started ala ‘Blair Witch Project” with unsteady video cam shots of a bunch of friends throwing a going away party for Joshua. Probably not advisable to have a huge meal before watching cos if you are anything like me, after our big Japanese meal, it made me feel so nauseous I almost puked into my handbag (ok I’m exaggerating, but yea, it made me a lil dizzy). SO. Party party party a lil, then Joshua mentioned of his plans to do a roap trip with his 3 best buds before leaving for the states.

The cut. 7 months later… the 3 good friends, 1 Cinak (Phoon Chi Ho), 1 Melayu (Baki Zainal), 1 Indian (Matthew Ho Tien Li – ok la.. Chindian) are all set for their road trip, on their way to Joshuas ready to pick him up. But Jeng Jeng Jeng… they picked up a box with an urn inside instead. So go figure.. Joshua somehow died and this trip was suppose to be like a tribute to him.

The road trip was pretty eventful. It was quite an emotional roller coaster for me. With the funny bits here and there(Baki digging his nose, scratching his crotch & butt), some witty sarcasm, some drama between the 3 friends, each guy with different sets of skeletons in their closet, some suspense (I like the part where they built up what Ajeet’s scars was about) it was a pretty easy to stay awake. It wasn’t exactly at-the-edge-of-the-seat kind of movie, but it was good enough for you to want to watch till the end.

The film opens 30th September 2010 and will be shown exclusively in the international screens, at Golden Screen Cinemas in Pavilion Kuala Lumpur, Mid Valley Megamall and One Utama.

Here’s a sneak peak

My only wish after the movie was to find out…

.

.

.

.

How did Joshua died lahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh???

About MayWong

Am said to be a nerd bimbo trapped in a mind of a 12 yr old boy by the one I love. Blubbly-icious!~!~!!~!~!!
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Next movie to catch: The Joshua Tapes

  1. synical says:

    I saw it last night and I wondered the same thing about the Joshua character.

    You thought he wasn’t around because he had already left for the States, but if the roadtrip was for BEFORE he left for the States, then that became moot.

    My guess is suicide.

    • MayWong says:

      there are just countless possibilities eh..

      oh well., for a local production.. they are pretty good I would say…🙂

  2. I enjoy you because of all of the efforts on this site. My mother takes pleasure in making time for investigations and it’s really easy to understand why. Most people learn all regarding the lively form you offer both useful and interesting strategies by means of the website and as well cause contribution from other individuals on that article so our girl is without a doubt being taught so much. Take pleasure in the remaining portion of the year. You are always doing a dazzling job.

Leave a Reply

